T20 World Cup 2021: 3 Teams Which Will Suffer Due To The Tournament Shifting To UAE

T20 World Cup 2021

The countdown for T20 World Cup 2021 has begun as the venues and dates of the ICC tournament have been finalized. The tournament has been shifted to UAE from India, due to the second-wave of Covid-19 affecting the country. Along with UAE, Oman is also another venue of the tournament, which will be hosted by the Indian cricket board BCCI.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will begin on October 17 with the preliminary games. The tournament will witness the final on November 14. A total of 16 teams are part of the tournament.

4 teams out of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Oman, Namibia, Scotland, and the Netherlands will qualify for the super-12 stage after the preliminary games. 8 teams i.e. India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, England, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand, and South Africa have already qualified for the Super 12 stage.

Since the tournament has shifted to UAE, teams will powerful spin attacks will benefit while teams with the absence of good spinners will suffer in the tournament. Here we talk about 3 teams that will suffer due to T20 World Cup 2021 shifting to UAE.

T20 World Cup 2021: 3 Teams Which Will Suffer Due To The Tournament Shifting To UAE


Australia Cricket Team
Australia Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

Australia is the first team that is expected to suffer due to the lack of formidable spinners in the T20 World Cup 2021. Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa are two important spinners for Australia currently in T20Is. While Ashton Agar showed a brilliant bowling attack this year in the 5-match T20I series against New Zealand by picking 8 wickets, Zampa has been struggling with his form.

In 2021 and 2020, right-arm spinner Zampa managed to pick 14 wickets in 15 T20I games. Moreover, Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa have not emerged as a powerful spin combination for Australia in T20Is so far. Therefore, their spin attack will not favor Australia in T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE and it will be a cause of worry for the team.

New Zealand

New Zealand Cricket Team
New Zealand Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

New Zealand is another team that will suffer in ICC T20 World Cup 2021 since they lack effective spinners in the team. For New Zealand, Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner are the two crucial spinners in the T20I format currently. Although New Zealand have mighty pace bowlers, they do not have an equally powerful spin attack. While Ish Sodhi has performed over the top in recent times, the same cannot be said for Mitchell Santner.

In 7 T20I matches in 2021 so far, Ish Sodhi accounts for 17 wickets. However, Santner has played 13 games in the last two years and picked 11 wickets. The Kane Williamson-led team also does not have more effective spin bowlers or spin all-rounders in the national team currently. Therefore, due to the lack of powerful spin bowlers, New Zealand is expected to suffer during ICC T20 World Cup 2021.


India Cricket Team, ICC T20 World Cup 2021
India Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

India is another team that is highly likely to suffer due to the shifting of the much-awaited ICC T20 World Cup 2021 to the UAE. At present, India have only Yuzvendra Chahal as an experienced international bowler who is in form. Left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav has been out of form due to his absence from the field in the last two years.

Spinner Rahul Chahar showed great form in IPL 2021 but he does not have good international experience. Similarly, Washington Sundar is an emerging spin bowler for India but he lacks international experience. Moreover, all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja is also an occasional spinner but cannot be relied much upon for bowling in an international competition like T20 World Cup 2021.

Indian team needs a dominant combination of a spin duo who can attack the opposition batsmen during encounters of ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Therefore, with the lone option of good spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, India is highly expected to suffer a lot with the shifting of the tournament to the UAE.

Source – Cricket.yahoo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.